Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Random thoughts of a Tennessee fan on life, sports and more TV shows than any one person should be allowed to watch.
About me
Name: Michael
Location: Nashville, TN
E-mail me!

View My Complete Profile
100 Things About Me
My Facebook Profile
My Wish List
Syndicate Big Orange Michael

The Latest News on the Vols


Also For Your Reading Pleasure
The Rocky Top Brigade
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

For Your Listening Pleasure (Podcasts)
Slice of SciFi
PodCulture
Two Insane Fans: The Statler and Waldorf of Doctor Who commentaries

Archives
04/01/2004 - 05/01/2004
05/01/2004 - 06/01/2004
06/01/2004 - 07/01/2004
07/01/2004 - 08/01/2004
08/01/2004 - 09/01/2004
09/01/2004 - 10/01/2004
10/01/2004 - 11/01/2004
11/01/2004 - 12/01/2004
12/01/2004 - 01/01/2005
01/01/2005 - 02/01/2005
02/01/2005 - 03/01/2005
03/01/2005 - 04/01/2005
04/01/2005 - 05/01/2005
05/01/2005 - 06/01/2005
06/01/2005 - 07/01/2005
07/01/2005 - 08/01/2005
08/01/2005 - 09/01/2005
09/01/2005 - 10/01/2005
10/01/2005 - 11/01/2005
11/01/2005 - 12/01/2005
12/01/2005 - 01/01/2006
01/01/2006 - 02/01/2006
02/01/2006 - 03/01/2006
03/01/2006 - 04/01/2006
04/01/2006 - 05/01/2006
05/01/2006 - 06/01/2006
06/01/2006 - 07/01/2006
07/01/2006 - 08/01/2006
08/01/2006 - 09/01/2006
09/01/2006 - 10/01/2006
10/01/2006 - 11/01/2006
11/01/2006 - 12/01/2006
12/01/2006 - 01/01/2007
01/01/2007 - 02/01/2007
02/01/2007 - 03/01/2007
03/01/2007 - 04/01/2007
04/01/2007 - 05/01/2007
05/01/2007 - 06/01/2007
06/01/2007 - 07/01/2007
07/01/2007 - 08/01/2007
08/01/2007 - 09/01/2007
09/01/2007 - 10/01/2007
10/01/2007 - 11/01/2007
11/01/2007 - 12/01/2007
12/01/2007 - 01/01/2008
01/01/2008 - 02/01/2008
02/01/2008 - 03/01/2008
03/01/2008 - 04/01/2008
04/01/2008 - 05/01/2008
05/01/2008 - 06/01/2008
06/01/2008 - 07/01/2008
07/01/2008 - 08/01/2008
08/01/2008 - 09/01/2008
09/01/2008 - 10/01/2008
10/01/2008 - 11/01/2008
11/01/2008 - 12/01/2008
12/01/2008 - 01/01/2009
01/01/2009 - 02/01/2009
02/01/2009 - 03/01/2009
03/01/2009 - 04/01/2009
04/01/2009 - 05/01/2009
05/01/2009 - 06/01/2009
06/01/2009 - 07/01/2009
07/01/2009 - 08/01/2009
08/01/2009 - 09/01/2009
09/01/2009 - 10/01/2009
10/01/2009 - 11/01/2009
11/01/2009 - 12/01/2009
12/01/2009 - 01/01/2010
01/01/2010 - 02/01/2010
02/01/2010 - 03/01/2010
03/01/2010 - 04/01/2010
04/01/2010 - 05/01/2010
05/01/2010 - 06/01/2010
06/01/2010 - 07/01/2010
07/01/2010 - 08/01/2010
08/01/2010 - 09/01/2010
09/01/2010 - 10/01/2010
10/01/2010 - 11/01/2010
11/01/2010 - 12/01/2010
12/01/2010 - 01/01/2011
01/01/2011 - 02/01/2011
02/01/2011 - 03/01/2011
03/01/2011 - 04/01/2011
04/01/2011 - 05/01/2011
05/01/2011 - 06/01/2011
06/01/2011 - 07/01/2011
07/01/2011 - 08/01/2011
08/01/2011 - 09/01/2011
09/01/2011 - 10/01/2011
10/01/2011 - 11/01/2011
11/01/2011 - 12/01/2011
12/01/2011 - 01/01/2012
01/01/2012 - 02/01/2012
02/01/2012 - 03/01/2012
03/01/2012 - 04/01/2012
04/01/2012 - 05/01/2012
05/01/2012 - 06/01/2012
06/01/2012 - 07/01/2012
07/01/2012 - 08/01/2012
08/01/2012 - 09/01/2012
09/01/2012 - 10/01/2012
08/01/2013 - 09/01/2013


Friday, April 01, 2005
50 Book Challenge Update
It's been a while since I updated the books I'm reading as part of the 50 Book Challenge. Here they are with a few comments about each one.

37. Star Trek: Worlds of DS9, Volume III
Proving again why outside of NF, the DS9 relaunch is the best thing happening in Trek literature right now.

36. St Dale by Sharon McCrumb
Fascinating fictional story about the cult of personality that has built up around Dale Earnheart.

35. A Taste for Death by P.D. James
A decent British muder-mystery.

34. Separation of Power by Vince Flynn
Good bubble-gum reading. A spy-thriller in the vein of some of Tom Clancy's better novels. Part of an on-going series.

33. Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton
First of the Anita Blake novels. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

32. Sideways by Rex Pickett
Basis for the Oscar nominated film. Great book. I can't wait to see the film on DVD (which I am sure will be no where as good!) I couldn't put it down.

31. The Laughing Corpse by Laurell K. Hamilton
2nd of the Anita Blake novels. Starts to expand the universe a bit. All of these are page turners.

30. DisneyWar by James Stewart
Fascinating look at the Michael Eisner run Disney.

29. Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton
3rd Anita Blake novel.

28. A Scanner Darkly by Phillip K Dick
Soon to be a movie. In typical PKD fashion, this one is mind-bending and full of parnoia. I cna only hope the movie is close to as good.

27. Blinded by Stephen White
A decent thriller by White though the ending is a bit obvious.

26. Iron Sunrise by Charles Stross
Strong, hard SF novel that is a sequel to Singularity Sky. Short-listed for the Hugo and I can see why.

25. Coalescent by Stephen Baxter
I keep wondering--why do I read Stephen Baxter's books? They always start off well only to lose steam in the last half.

24. Triggerfish Twist by Tim Dorsey
A mystery/thriller in the vein of Dave Barry or Carl Hiasson. There were parts that had me luaghing out loud. Surely Florida isn't this crazy...

23. Three Nights in August by Buzz Bissinger
A fascinating look inside the moves made by manager Tony LaRussa during a critical three-game series with the Cubs in 2003. Easily as intricate, fascinating and page-turning as the best novels by Grisham. If you like baseball, you'll enjoy it. If you're not a a fan, this might help you understand why so many find it so fascinating.

posted by Michael Hickerson at 4/01/2005 09:50:00 AM | |
Comments: Post a Comment
Widget_logo


Follow me on Twitter!




    Follow me on Twitter!

    www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from bigorangemichael. Make your own badge here.

    Recent Comments
    Awards


    Best Middle Tennessee Blogs



    Web Sites I Visit
    CrossWalk.com
    Daily News Journal
    Doctor Who News
    Go Vols
    Go Titans
    The Tennessean
    The Tennessean's Titans Coverage
    Trek Today
    TV Guide On-Line
    Washington Post Redskins Coverage
    USA Today

    2007 Team Schedules
    Tennessee Vols
    Tennessee Titans
    Washington Redskins

    Favorite Authors on the Web
    Orson Scott Card
    Peter David's Blog
    Keith R.A. DeCandido's Blog
    Neil Gaiman
    Elizabeth George
    Philip Gulley
    Stephen King
    Donald Miller
    Lisa Samson's Blog
    Robert Whitlow

    Musical Links
    Carolyn Arends
    Sherrie Austin
    Cherryholmes
    Lee Domann
    Dust And Ashes
    Fleming & John
    Sara Groves
    Jennifer Knapp
    Jars of Clay
    Carolyn Dawn Johnson
    Cindy Morgan
    The Monkees
    Nickel Creek
    Nothin' Fancy
    Rebecca St. JamesRay Stevens
    Steep Canyon Rangers
    Williams and Clark Expedition
    Rhonda Vincent and the Rage
    Jaci Velasquez

    Blogging Links

    Powered by Blogger Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com Listed on Blogwise
    << ? Blogaholics Anonymous # >>

    My Blog Chalk

    Michael/Male/31-35. Lives in United States/Tennessee/Smyrna, speaks English. Eye color is brown. I am in shape. I am also creative. My interests are Reading/Swimming laps.
    This is my blogchalk:
    United States, Tennessee, Smyrna, English, Michael, Male, 31-35, Reading, Swimming laps.



    You Are Visitor

    Free Web Counter


    Looking For Something Specific?
    Search this site or the web powered by FreeFind

    Site search Web search


    Blogskins
    Powered by Blogger